

Stroud Valley Community School Governing Body

REMIT OF THE GOVERNING BODY

The Governing Body has the responsibility for ensuring the good conduct and high standards of educational provision and achievement throughout the school. Governors do this by setting the strategic direction of the school, ensuring the quality of the education is high and by holding the Headteacher to account. All governing boards have three core functions to support their school:

- 1. To ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction. We ask "Where is the school heading and what are the values of the school?"
- 2. To hold the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils and the management of staff
- 3. To oversee the financial performance of the school and make sure money is well spent and supports the key direction of the school.

In Stroud Valley Community school the governing body is made up of local people who live in the community and want to achieve the best we can for the school and its families. As individuals governors have no power or responsibility. It is only the full governing body acting together which has legal duties and powers. All governors share that responsibility. We are proud to be governors and want to continue to support the excellent learning in Stroud Valley Community school by taking an active part in the local community and working in close partnership with the head and her team.

The Governing Body is made up of 13 members.

This consists of:

- 3 parent governors who are elected by the parents of the school.
- 1 Local Authority representatives
- 1 member of staff elected by the staff
- the Head Teacher
- 7 Co-Opted governors

These meet as a full group 4 – 6 times a year, equally spaced throughout the year..

There are also two focused committees groups:

- Finance, Staffing, Premises and General Purposes
- Teaching, Learning and Assessment

Our Governors

Name	Governor Category	Appointment Date Term of Office	Further Information/Financial Pecuniary Interests
Jackie Terry (Chair)	Co-opted	10/07/2023	None
Christine Minett (Vice Chair)	Co-opted	21/03/2023	None
Christine Barrett	Staff	22/03/2023	SENCO
Tim Davies	Parent	08/04 / 2022	None
James Harwood- Vandenbergh	Parent	03/07/2023	None
Sarah Heague	Co-opted	22/03/2023	DHT
Steve Hodgkinson	Co-opted	20/10/2022	Headteacher at another
Clare Murphy	Co-opted	12/02/2023	None
Simon Pizzey	Co-opted	22/03/2023	None
Debbie Sleep	Headteacher		Headteacher
John Walton	Co-opted	4/12/2020	None
Rachael Scott	LA	11/12/23	None
Julie Howe	Associate	13/7/21-12/7/25 Associate	Finance Committee
Vacancy	Clerk to Governing Body		
Governors left within last a	academic year		
Darren Peters	Co-opted	27/03/2023 Resigned 5/12/23	None

The staff governor is elected by the staff of the school.

The local authority governor is appointed by the LA.

Co-opted governors are appointed by the existing governing body/

The parent governor is elected by the parents of the school.

Committees Governors (Attendance for year Sept 23 – July 24)

Finance, Premises		Self Evaluation	
Staffing and General Purposes			
Name	Attendance	Name	Attendance
C.Minett	4/4	J.Terry	3/5
(Chair)			
Tim Davies	4/4	Simon Pizzy	3/5
John Walton	3/4	Chris Barrett	4/5
Julie Howe (associate)	3/4	Sarah Heague	5/5
James Vandenburg-Harwood	1/2	Chris Minett	5/5
		Claire Murphy	3/5

Full Governing Body meetings Sept 23 – July 24	Attendance	
J Terry (Chair)	4/5	
C Minett (Vice Chair)	3/5	
Christine Barrett	3/5	
Tim Davies	3/5	
James Harwood-Vandenbergh	3/5	
Sarah Heague	4/5	
Steve Hodgkinson	5/5	
Clare Murphy	4/5	
Simon Pizzey	3/5	
Debbie Sleep	5/5	
John Walton	3/5	
Rachael Scott	3/4	

2024/2025

Finance, Premises Staffing and General Purposes		Self Evaluation	
Name	Attendance	Name	Attendance
C.Minett		J.Terry	1/1
(Chair)		(Chair)	
Tim Davies		Simon Pizzy	1/1
John Walton		Chris Barrett	1/1
Julie Howe (associate)		Sarah Heague	1/1
James Vandenburg-Harwood		Chris Minett	1/1
		Claire Murphy	1/1
		Rachael Scott	1/1

Full Governing Body meetings Sept 24 – July 25	Attendance
J Terry (Chair)	1/1
C Minett (Vice Chair)	0/1
Christine Barrett	0/1
Tim Davies	1/1
James Harwood-Vandenbergh	1/1
Sarah Heague	1/1
Steve Hodgkinson	1/1
Clare Murphy	0/1
Simon Pizzey	0/1
Debbie Sleep	1/1
John Walton	1/1
Rachael Scott	1/1